Sugar-coated

20140311-113044.jpgIt’s almost as though we’ve blinked our eyes, and here we are, the 11th of March, marching on towards the Spring equinox. Our days have been round and full lately, and having had to move the clocks forward one pesky hour has left us feeling a bit off-kilter and foggy. I’ve been maintaining a strict diet (in line with my guidelines for gestational diabetes) and I must say, I’ve never had a diabetic reading –not once– in all of my pregnancies, except for when I take that darn glucose tolerance test (gtt). In fact lately, if anything, my blood sugar is on the low side. Very curious. Something about drinking 50-100g of that vile orange serum sets my body completely out of whack. But here we are every time, so I just believe it and get on with it.

Grant and I have actually looked at the science of it all, in terms of standard deviations, false positives, etc. (we are nerds like that!), and it makes sense that there are a number of people who will fail the test, but in actuality are not the people the test is targeting to catch. Does that make sense at all? I’ve probably done a rubbish job of explaining it, but as we’ve seen, the proof is in the babies…Neither Alina, nor Finnlagh nor Reed were overly large or hypoglycemic babies at birth, which can be attributed to one of two factors: either I’ve never actually had an issue with glucose intolerance, or I am so vigilant about my diet while pregnant that it is under very tight control. We can’t know the answer, but all I can say is that this being my fourth pregnancy, I take these things very seriously, monitoring my blood sugar readings at least 4x daily and keeping a careful log of what I’ve eaten and what results it gives. I wake up and test my fasting blood sugar, then test 1-hour after every meal throughout the day.

So what does one eat on such a GD diet? As much as one is forbidden a great number of things (think anything dessert-like, drinks other than water or coffee/tea with cream, most carbohydrates (goodbye generous tortillas, pasta, baguette, etc.), it does give me a great deal of energy, and I am surprised I’m not experiencing as many headaches (although that might have something to do with the mild SoCal climate).

Here’s a daily sample of what I prepare at home. We prefer eating at our house for a number of reasons, but especially when you are on this kind of draconian diet, it is extremely hard to know what a restaurant is using (there could be added sugar in sauces, vinaigrettes, etc. –just ask Chef Grant!)

Breakfast: sausage, guacamole (avocado/lime/tomatillo/serrano), salsa, fried cheese (grilled halloumi or similar); coffee with cream (*I tend to avoid any fruit in the morning because blood sugar is generally highest in the morning due to hormones)

*If you eat eggs, those would be fantastic for this kind of regimine. I’ve hated eggs since I was a wee one, so that unfortunately rules out a lot of high protein choices.

Lunch: 1 whole wheat bagel thin, cream cheese, heirloom tomatoes, cucumbers, avocado slices, fresh basil, balsamic

OR

Any kind of salad and a protein on top

Dinner: any protein (fish, pork chops, steak, tofu, etc.) and grilled vegetables or salad.

Snacks: nuts (almonds are perfect), berries, cheese sticks, raw veggies and creamy dip, 1/2 apple with a bit of all-natural nut butter, etc.

The odd thing is that I don’t miss what I’m missing. Well, I suppose I do crave croissants or pasta and a wedge of chocolate cake (the kind with extra-thick frosting), but having a little one in my belly gives me the willpower to resist by making proper meal choices. Thank-you, Mother Nature.

XO,

N&N

Leave a Reply

