Little lad’s birthday eve…

20131028-233242.jpg
Tomorrow marks the 5th birthday of our dear, sweet son: Finnlagh. As I snuggled with him in his bed this evening, serenading him with the Polish lullaby he’s known since he was a newborn, the images of his birth day danced in my head — that perfectly silent and still Wednesday morning in Montreal, as the first snow of the season fell gracefully and poetically to the ground. There was classical music playing on Radio Classique (as per my request) and a supportive labour team comprised of my husband, a nurse (Rosita), a resident and his attending doctor, all present to catch and care for baby Finnlagh as he entered this world. It was a gentle, serene VBAC birth experience, and I will carry those moments in my heart always.

To the boy with the massive blue eyes that twinkle like the heavens, and the infectious laugh that resounds with delight… To our son who fills our days with magical mischief, whimsy and joy… We wish you many happy and healthy returns! Happy Birthday, Finnlagh – we love you!

XO,
N&N

When I have said my evening prayer,
And my clothes are folded on the chair,
And mother switches off the light,
I’ll still be four years old tonight.
But from the very break of day,
Before the children rise and play,
Before the darkness turns to gold,
Tomorrow I’ll be five years old.

Five kisses when I wake.
Five candles on my cake.

Leave a Reply

